Circles on the Water

Now in its Fifteenth printing


First published by Alfred A. Knopf in 1982, and continuously in print ever since, Circles on the Water is home to some of Marge Piercy’s best loved and most requested poems, including: “To Be of Use,” ”A Work of Artifice,” ”The Secretary Chant,” ”Barbie Doll,” ”Unlearning Not to Speak, ” “For the Young Who Want To,” ”Laying Down the Tower” (the complete Tarot Deck sequence), ”Rape Poem, ” ”The Poet Dreams of a Nice Warm Motel, ” ”Attack of the Squash People, ” ”For Strong Women, ” ”What’s That Smell in the Kitchen?,” ”Right to Life,” and an introduction in which Piercy talks about how and why she writes poems.


Circles on the Water:
The Selected Poems of Marge Piercy
Published by Alfred A. Knopf, NY
ISBN: 0-394-70779-6
300 pp.